Judi Graff: FARMnWIFE

Hello! Again this past week, we had a guest speaker in my PR in Ag class. Judi Graff, the author of the FARMnWife blog, visited our class.  Her presentation was geared toward farm business, but many of her suggestions apply to my kind of blogging as well. So, here are the top 3 things that I learned about more effective blogging.

1. Your blog must be simple and clear, yet appealing to the eye. This is important because you have about 6 seconds to catch someone’s attention before they decide your page isn’t worth reading. I have already made a few changes to my blog by adding things like a “Find me on Facebook” link and a “Top Posts” widget.

2. Have a contact section. This is important because sometimes a follower does not want to make a comment or question public for some reason or another. When you have a contact section, a follower can ask questions to the blogger directly and this kind of direct contact makes the blogger more approachable. I have already added a “Contact Me” at the top of my blog, and I hope you will take advantage of it!

3. Have a call to action. Your blog may have some great information or entertainment, but sometimes readers don’t know what to do with that information. A call to action, such as a poll or a question session, can help not only get the reader involved, but also let the blogger know what the readers like to see. In my blog, I am going to try to learn how to do polls and surveys; I think they will be fun!

Judi gave some amazing tips for effective blogging, and I am so glad that I got to hear her present. I really think that her suggestions will help to improve my blog. As always, thanks for reading, and see you next week!

P.S. Here’s the link to Judi’s blog, FARMnWife, if you want to check it out! http://farmnwife.com/

One thought on “Judi Graff: FARMnWIFE

  1. I’m really enjoying all the pictures on your blog. Thanks for the mention. I wanted to clarify what I meant by “call to action”. It is any kind of direction that you give to the reader. Such as “asking a question for them to leave a comment” “subscribe to my blog via the widget on the sidebar” or directing them to another post or a poll or survey. But for the last two you need to have engaged readers to pull it off.

    Keep up the good work, and Blog On!

Leave a Reply

