Hurry up, Spring Break!

As I have told you before, I grew up in the country. Seven months ago, I crawled out of the hills I call home to come to Missouri State. At first, the homesickness was terrible, because I could only go home every two weeks since my car was not fixed. When that problem was resolved, I began going home every weekend. As of now, however, I have not been home in over two weeks (16 days, to be exact), and I am going insane! Don’t get me wrong, I love Missouri State, and I am having a wonderful time, but those of you who know about the transition from the small farm to the city life have some idea about what I’m talking about. As of now, I am relatively well adjusted to the life of a college student. However, with the coming of spring, I find myself wanting to go home more and more. One of the most beautiful sounds in the world is a soft spring rain falling on the baby grass as the spring peepers sing their hearts out. In a few weeks, the air will be filled with new baby goats calling to their mothers, and the ducklings will be frantically calling to the hen who is right beside them. Spring in the country is a wonderful time, and I am looking forward to Friday, when I get to go home for the first time in almost three weeks. The goat barn is coming together nicely, the nannies are fat and will be kidding soon, and the baby rabbits have opened their eyes. Spring, you have no idea how welcome you are! All I can say is that I will not be happy until my car is going over the rise on farm road 1135 and I see my home sitting on the hill. Friday cannot come soon enough!
Image

The new goat barn. One whole side and half of another is finished, and next comes the roof!

2 thoughts on “Hurry up, Spring Break!

  1. I completely understand! I miss my country home very much throughout the week, and it’s always good when the end of the week rolls around and I get to head that way. I know exactly what you are talking about when you mentoined the transition from the small farm to the city life.

  2. You might consider sealing that barn with a water-proofing wood stain. We wish we had…it might be in better shape after a decade. Just a suggestion from experience. 🙂 Nice blog…good luck w/ school!!

Leave a Reply

